‘Tis that Season

Mostly, I get excited about the preparation for events. I love the planning, the researching, the purchasing, the wrapping and the sorting.

Joey gets a kick out of me every Christmas season. He oftentimes snaps an embarrassing picture of me sitting Indian-style on the floor in our room amidst a sea of gifts.

Guest room turned North Pole

Guest room turned North Pole

I love to put them in piles, organized by family or friend group, the “Swingin’ Christmas” station playing on Pandora to get me in the Christmas mood. I keep a journal of what I’ve already purchased (because I’m budgeted, afterall), and add to that list as I sense any hint of financial leeway from Joey.

Like many of you, I’m sure; I love decorating for Christmas. I don’t go all out. I’m kind of a minimalist, and I admit I’m pretty cheap when it comes to holiday decor. This year we started decorating before Thanksgiving since it falls so late in November. Friday was icy cold…perfect for a fire, Christmas music, orange danish rolls in the oven, and the Charlie Brown holiday series playing on DVD. Despite where we’ve lived, or the size of the tree, the spirit of Christmas fills our living room and generosity creeps into our hearts.

2007 Waco

2007 Waco

I’ve learned so much about generosity over the years. Mostly from the generous people in our lives, like our families and friends who give and give and give–time, money, food–without considering the cost. And God sure has been generous to us. Whew…we are richly blessed in many ways.

2009 Waco

2009 Waco

I am SO MUCH MORE excited about what I give people than what I might get from them. Not “tooting my own horn” here…it’s just true. I love gift-giving; probably to a fault, because I struggle to reign in my hurt if you don’t love my food or respond to my gift the way I dreamed you might. I blame this characteristic on my mom…she’s a notorious planner and dreamer and giver. And rightfully sensitive if her gifts aren’t well-received.

2011 Norman

2011 Norman

I’m hoping your holiday season is devoid of stress, financial strain, family misunderstanding, processed foods, greed and selfishness.

2013 Norman

2013 Norman

Praying it’s full of meaningful interaction with family, fantastic and healthful food, some exercise that makes you uncomfortable, hilarious parties with friends, an ugly Christmas sweater or two, generous giving–to those you love and those in need, and maybe something off your wish list. Blessings, friends.

One thought on “‘Tis that Season

Leave a Reply

