Room Enough

Leave it to the birth of your first child to bring you and your spouse closer than you ever thought possible.

I love Finn…and I love Ashley even more since experiencing my love for this miracle God has created through us.

I cannot wait to take him home to a place that is stable, loving, fun, and good because of his mom and dad’s love for each other. Before I was married I used to say, “there’s no room for marriage in my busy, cool, hip lifestyle.” After being married to Ash almost six years I’m finally forgetting the smell of the gutter I used to live in. Before Finn I used to say, “there’s no room for a kid in our marriage; what if it comes between Ash and I?” After experiencing the last 36 hours of Finn’s presence in the world I realize that Ashley and I’s love is big enough for him and bigger because of him.

Maybe that’s what marriage love is. Like God’s love. It’s so big, intimate, and close that your children just fit.

Joey (Finn’s dad and guest writer)

10 thoughts on “Room Enough

  1. So true and Steven and I have only just begun the first addition of love with marriage. Look forward to learning from your love.

  2. Oh Joey!! Perfectly written and leaving me with a huge lump in my throat. I am so excited for you 3 and will continue to pray for all of you. What a sweet and precious God we serve!
    Love,
    Molly

  3. What a precious angel God has given you. He is adorable and know you both are looking forward to being able to snuggle him for hours on end.

  4. You are my son and you have changed my life. I am forever thankful for how big you’ve made my otherwise small world. Dad

  5. It’s like they fill a space in your heart you didn’t know was empty. Immediate love. I keep think of you three today and praying. You’re just on my heart. 🙂 Praying for peace and love to surround you as you go through these changes and new stages.

  6. I have learned a lot about love, marriage and Christ from your parents, Joey. Now I’m learning a whole new set of lessons on the same subjects from you.l and Ashley. The apple doesn’t fall very fall from the tree.

    You guys are brave and you’re loved and prayed for by friends you may not even know you have.

  7. Ashley and Joey we continue to pray for you through your brave journey. Finn is beautiful and God picked the most perfect, selfless couple to be his parents. What a lucky guy!
    Sending love and prayers your way.
    Shawnda, Jim, Ryker and Reese Wirth

  8. I couldn’t have said it better myself. I really didn’t think I could love my husband any more than I already do. Our son Henry has made me love him so much more! God is truly amazing!

Leave a Reply

