Bodily Functions

I don’t feel much like writing today, so Joey’s stepping in for me. This won’t be the last time. ๐Ÿ™‚

Finn is progressively doing better.

(1) We still cath(eterize) every 24hrs. Just so you know how awesome he is…it is his routine to peacefully drift off to sleep while we roll him onto his side and begin poking and prodding. I see him saying, “Go on, do your worst, world. I’ll be sleeping.”

(2) His IV’s come out tonight–meaning the doctors have seen him eat well enough on momma’s milk that the supplemental electrolytes and lipids are no longer needed. I see him saying, “Momma din’t raze no foo. I want the good stuff.”

(3) Continuing with the theme of Finn’s anatomical updates, his digestive track seems to be working excellent. Finn HATES dirty diapers. We believe this is especially true because he’s lying prone, so everything slides down, so to speak. Adult content warning: In our nurse’s most clinical terms, “Testicles should not have poop on them.” He had the type of blowout that you hear parents talk about, but you have to see to believe. I’m so proud of him. I think you know its love when poop and pee bring literal tears to your eyes (my nose is stinging right now..and not from stench).

Continue praying for Finn.

I have never, in all my life, seen prayer work in community like I have through you and through our situation. Thank you for allowing God to be visible through your acts of love. What has formed around Finn is a foreshadowing of the Kingdom in which we will all eat (and never go hungry), run (and never grow weary), and love (and never be abandoned).

20120310-165900.jpg

14 thoughts on “Bodily Functions

  1. I am so excited to hear about Finn’s progress. He is just adorable. You guys are great parents, just comes natural, huh?

    • Oh that sweet picture – be still my heart ๐Ÿ™‚ he’s so beautiful (that okay to say about boys when they’re still babies!) …praying without ceasing!

  2. Praise the Lord for every bit of progress, large and small. Finn is absolutely adorable!
    In My Prayers, Sarah Redwine

  3. Great job, Joey!! That’s the thing I love about babies we can talk about their poo and their pee, as a great thing. Love you guys as parents.

  4. We have been out of pocket, but you have not been out of our thoughts and prayers. We keep reading all your precious and amazing posts and continue to go to our Father in praise and prayer. It’s amazing how this sweet mighty life has changed us so much, and I’ve not yet met him. Thanks for the post Joe…I love hearing from the daddy too! Dang you’re a terrific dad. I knew you would be, but it’s too cool to see it unfold and just be in awe. Sending lots of crazy Shockley hugs your way!

  5. Great post today. Makes me smile. Lisa and Bekah make me feel like I really know you all. This blog deepens that friendship from afar. Continuing to pray for good news like IV’s out.
    Love
    Linda

  6. Thanks for pics and (creative…) commentary. ๐Ÿ™‚ You two will be wonderful parents. Blessings on Baby Finn–from an old cuz. — Terry R

  7. Well said, Joey. Contrary to popular belief, the Hokey Pokey is NOT what it’s all about; it’s all about the Kingdom! Maybe we should write a song about that… Much love to each of you from the Theiges

Leave a Reply

