Homecoming

Strike up the band, we are coming home!

The minutes crawled by and the sound of beeping and buzzing and alarming on the monitors seemed almost unbearable today, but we have finally been cleared to bring Finn Joseph home. He experienced wearing his first outfit, his first breath of fresh air and his first car ride, unfettered by cords and wires and IV’s.

Car ride was a hit. He loved the bumpy movement and white noise. What a blessing to have him in our home where he belongs. If you think of it, please pray for our first night alone together.

Although we KNOW you care and want to continue to show support, we will not be accepting visitors. This is largely for Finn’s health and safety and a bit for our sanity while we transition from the storm of the NICU to our home. We are excited to introduce Finn to our church and gym families in a month or so once cleared by the doctors and when we feel it is appropriate. Meals are also taken care of. We are so grateful for your many prayers and thoughts during our time at the NICU. Though we’ll be back at Children’s many times (beginning again on Thursday), we are so thankful to be closing this chapter of Finn’s life.

I will most likely not be posting daily now that Finn is home, but I will keep you updated. Promise.

Thanks for following our journey.

[

.

21 thoughts on “Homecoming

  1. Yaaaaay!!!! Welcome home, Finn!! Ashley, you look gorgeous – not that I’m suprised. Did you just have a baby? And I love the look of joy on Joey’s face. I can’t wait to see the three of you. He looks perfect in that carseat waiting to be driven home. I am overjoyed for you!

  2. YIPPEE!!! You all look so happy to get to go home! Your first night will be trying but you will both do wonderfully. What a blessing to see you all going home as a family.

  3. Yippee! Welcome home Armstrong family! Best birthday present I could ask for. Prayers continuing, especially for rest and peace. You’re doing a great job, Mom, Dad, and Finn! Love you all!

  4. So happy for you three! Very wise to enjoy the cocoon of home without visitors for awhile; bringing a new baby home is stressful enough as it is when you haven’t spent two weeks in the NICU! Praying that you find your new normal as soon as possible!

  5. Wahoo!!! So happy for you all!!! We will continue to pray for you and honor your wishes!! Know we are thinking about you guys!! he looks precious!!

  6. Ashley and Joey,

    I am SO excited that the three of you are home! What an incredible blessing! I know he will continue to bless you with Finn’s health. That is the best news ever! Enjoy your family! What an exciting time.

    Sue and Steve

  7. Yay!!!! What a beautiful family! The joy on your faces is contagious! My face hurts from smiling (I sort of looked at these pictures over and over and over)! Thank you for sharing your WONDERFUL news!!! Ash – you look fabulous; Joey – you look like you were born to be Finn’s dad; Finn – you have captured my heart and are hands down one of the most adorable babies I have ever seen! Love you all! Praying for a peaceful, restful, anxiety-free night/first day at home!

  8. I love this post. I love your pictures. How wonderful to go home!
    I couldn’t help but notice you holding that carrier…I can’t believe you are strong enough to hold it!
    Enjoy being at home, as a family.
    Praise Jesus!
    I will be praying for your first night, nights, and those first days at home.

  9. I love pretty much EVERYTHING about this post. Your faces, your baby, your house, your baby IN your house – such a wonderful day! Praying for you all as you love on your little man in the best place and ways possible!!

  10. Oh my lands!! Praise Jesus! What an incredible day this has to have been. I read this last nite, and thought about you all so much…praying all was going smoothly. I absolutely love these pictures of you all and the joy I can see in your faces. We will continue to cover you in prayer and chances are I will bug Aunt Leah for updates when I am wanting to stalk Finn. Love to you all! CONGRATS ON COMING HOME!

  11. So happy you are at home! What a blessing! Enjoy the posts, the pics and the video. Thank you so much for sharing all of this with us!

    • Wow! I didn’t read this till this morning. Praising God! May you have many peaceful moments and God will give you the strength for the other times. Love you three so much!

  12. So glad you are home! Finn is a lucky little guy to have parents so strong in their faith. Blessings to you all!
    Continued Prayers……….
    Deborah

Leave a Reply

