God Said No

Through blurry eyes, I decided to glance at my phone this morning after an early feeding. Since there were several texts and two missed calls, I decided I’d better check them. Glad I did, as one of my best friends was in labor. Thankful that mom was here to watch Finn, I rushed to the hospital to join her and the other troopers who sat with her throughout the night. Her husband was in CO, parents in MO, and baby was coming six weeks early.

I was reminded again of our lack of control.

Sometimes life is deceptive in that things go my way; plans sail on smoothly. I think I’m in control. Then the unexpected happens and I’m reminded that each day is a gift. Each minute is susceptible to God’s creative chaos. He is mysterious. He does things I don’t understand. He does things I don’t always like. I take great comfort in the fact that Jesus also asked God to change his plans. In the garden of Gethsemane, Jesus begged, “with a loud cry and tears” (I can relate to that) “to the One who could rescue him from death” Hebrews 5:7.

He pleads,

“My Father! If it is possible, let this cup of suffering be taken away from me.

Yet I want your will to be done, not mine.” Matthew 26:39

God said no. God had bigger plans for Jesus and it seemed dying a criminal’s death was part of it. Jesus doesn’t dismiss sorrow and suffering by saying it shouldn’t hurt or that we shouldn’t question God. He did, and he is our example. However, he also submitted to the Father’s will. I don’t quite have that part down.

Please pray for a healthy and smooth delivery for the Whites and baby girl. She’ll head up to the NICU for a time of transition, as she’ll be a bit premature. Had Finn been on time, they might have been roommates like their mommies were.  🙂

Side note: I’m reading a great book from a great friend called, Hearing Jesus Speak into Your Sorrow. Thoughts on God saying “no” inspired by Chapter 2. Thanks, Matty!

3 thoughts on “God Said No

  1. Ashley,

    I marvel at your insight and wisdom. Your faith is an inspiration to me. I thank God for the blessing you have brought to my life through sharing yours. Joey and Finn are lucky to have you, good times and hard times. And I will add the Whites to my prayer list. Hope all goes well for them.

    Gwenn

Leave a Reply

