Back Row Bunny

Got to church early this morning to claim our spot on a back row in case things got messy. It was our first attempt with Finn. Only had to change him twice and just three ladies tried to hide him in their purses.

At one point, I took Finn to the back to rock him in my arms and prevent an outburst. I sang along with thankful fervor and unleashed joy as Joey led us in worship to the Lamb. The notion that He did not stay in the grave but was resuscitated for us changes everything. A few of my favorite hymns are sung on Easter Sunday. Such simple lyrics, but such colossal truths:

What can wash away my sin? Nothing but the blood of Jesus.

What can make me whole again? Nothing but the blood of Jesus.

O, precious is the flow; that makes me white as snow;

No other fount I know; nothing but the blood of Jesus.

Jesus paid it all.

All to Him I owe.

Sin had left a crimson stain; 

He washed it white as snow.

Let no one caught in sin remain inside the lie of inward shame.

We fix our eyes upon the cross and run to Him who showed great love.

And bled for us; freely You bled for us…

O death, where is your sting? O hell, where is your victory?

O church, come stand in the light! Our God is not dead;

He’s alive! He’s alive!

11 thoughts on “Back Row Bunny

  1. Soo glad you made it to church. What a wonderful blessing to hs your miracle and sing praise to our King while rocking him. Oh if I would’ve been there and seen you I would’ve been a mess for sure. Love you all to the moon.

  2. So great to see you back today. You guys are such a cute family. I love the Easter pics.

    I got teary today when singing (shouting) He’s alive! He’s alive! What an awesome God we serve. Love you to pieces, sweet girl!

  3. We were so excited to read your blog this morning. Tears of overwhelming joy ran down our faces. Gram would have tucked all three of you in her purse. and brought you to Minnesota. We love you with praise to our Risen Saviour . Gram & Gramps We want one of those bunny hats

  4. Can’t wait to see you all and meet Finn…..those of us in the Classic Service missed out on the great event of Finn’s first time at church……thanks for sharing these beautiful photos…..Always Praying, Sarah R.

  5. Ashley, I just read your blog. Lindsey had directed me to it recently after giving me an update about what’s been going on in your life. Words seem inadequate to express my heart, but I want you to know that I will be praying for you, Joey and sweet baby Finn. I have great confidence in your faith, strength and love for the Lord. And thus I know that ultimately you will be built up and continue to glorify Him through this most difficult journey. Thank you for journaling and updating through your blog. With much love, sadness and hope. Paula Homsey Vawter

  6. I heard about Finn’s first visit to church on Easter sunday and I am so sorry I missed him!! We also attended Classic service and missed out on our usual church service at common ground. I hope I get another chance very soon to meet Mr Finn in person, I really enjoy your blog and keeping us updated on everything. The Easter pics are very sweet and you are a beautiful family!! God Bless you all!!
    Palla

  7. What Praise God moments you share, Ashley; the joy & miracle of Finn supercedes any doubts you may have in the ability you may have in parenting your boy! Your trust in the Creator is evident of Him holding your’s & Joey’s hand as you hold on to your son’s hand. I’m glad his first church experience was joining his church family in one of the greatest Celebrations of all!!:o)
    Once again, thanks for these postings of an honest reflection of your journey as parents. Regularly lifting ya’ll up in prayer…….
    Abrazos (hugs!)………Patty V.
    P.S. Miss you Joey in the Buckner family but so glad that you continue serving @ FBC, Norman. Praying that God continues to bless your ministry!

  8. Such a cute Easter picture. Finn, you get more handsome w/every picture that your Mommy posts. So thankful that you were blessed and felt the love of our living Father during the Easter service. His grace and mercy are new each day. Amen!

  9. Ashley, I follow your blog and am constantly in awe of your and Joey’s courage and devotion. Who knows when WE will face situations that seem to be above our power to bear them, but we know who CAN be our help and support, don’t we? You are in my thoughts and prayers always!!! Love

Leave a Reply

