Tuesday Girls (and boy)

Last night, I snuck Finn in to Tuesday Girls via ErgoBaby carrier. Girls only, they say. However, he won them over with his sleepy charm and flirty toothless smirk. They didn’t know that as soon as he reached the car, he screamed the entire five miles home. Tuesday Girls is a beautiful collection of women of all generations. We meet at someone’s home monthly and eat. Yummy things. Then someone teaches a craft or practical skill. Like last night Pascha taught us how to make pillowcase dresses for little girls in Africa. I can’t sew a button.  Once, Trish taught us how to make the perfect pie crust. I make cookies. Lea Ann and Lauren and Joy taught us how to create all these intricate crafts that they swear are “so easy.” I don’t believe them. Mer’s mom taught us a new way to knot a scarf. I taught the ladies how to do a “portable workout.” I can, however, do a push up. After the short demo, someone else shares “what they know for sure,” and this year we’re focusing on gratitude. Laura spoke genuinely about her reflections on the book, One Thousand Gifts. She, Loyce and Kay suggested keeping a daily gratitude journal, recording the things you’re thankful for.

Thanks for the onesie, Pascha!

Here’s my list for today:

1. Joey fed Jersey and Finn this morning while I pretended to sleep

2. Starbucks Sumatra Keurig cups

3. A 2.5 mile walk in 73 degree weather; light breeze

4. Finn’s alert blue eyes and the long lashes that adorn them

5. A/C that works (thanks G&G!)

6. Medical insurance

7. Norman’s beautiful array of trees

8. Birds singing in my backyard

9. Finn’s velociraptor sounds while he’s napping (think Jurassic Park)

10. Golden Delicious (and they are) apples

Pouty face

11. Whole wheat banana pancakes for breakfast

12. Families of whom we crave their company

13. Chad is safe in Israel (he’s leading a

backpacking/educational trip there)

14. Legs that work

15. Meyer’s Clean Day lavender candles…

Now you try.

6 thoughts on “Tuesday Girls (and boy)

  1. Goodness! That is a lot to be thankful for! You have certainly inspired me to rethink this formerly grumpy-allergy-ridden day. I am thankful that even though I don’t feel too well, I can come straight home from class and rest without having to call in sick somewhere (and that I’m actually very healthy – when it comes down to it). I’m thankful that Lyle works from home twice a week, and that I have a cute puppy to annoy me. I’m also thankful for you, Finn, Joey, and Jersey! Love your friendship. Can’t wait to see you again!

  2. love, love, love this book and her blog. I wept reading it but it’s so the Father’s heart for us! today, our list is full, one thing that stands out, an afternoon nap while babies sleep. yes, please! love you Ashley! so thankful for you!

  3. First, the book changed my life. Getting ready to read it a second time.
    More importantly, I’m seeing such a beautiful refreshment in where you are. Be encouraged.
    Love.

Leave a Reply

