Sparrows

Nana and Papa Rosell drove 15 hours round-trip this weekend to spend 24 with Finn.

In terms of family, Joey and I are filthy rich. Our account is teeming full to have such loving, godly parents on both sides. They have provided not only imitable marriages but have also schooled us in devoted parenting.

One simple lesson my mom taught me as a very young girl was that I have worth. When I was sad or got my feelings hurt at school, she would sit me on the bathroom counter and make me look in the mirror. Then I would recite, “My name is Ashley Dawn Rosell. Jesus loves me, and so does my mom.” I actually did this many times throughout my life, even in college sitting on my dorm room floor. As simple and silly as this sounds, it is a powerful reminder that I am loved. Finn will also be taught of his worth in Christ, the many ways he is loved and his irreplaceable role in our family.

Matthew 10:31 “So don’t be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows.”

10 thoughts on “Sparrows

  1. Those pictures of Finn with his Nana and Papa are priceless. Having Godly, supportive parents is such an amazing gift – I’m so thankful for mine. And I’m totally stealing that mirror idea when Ali and Aaron get older.

  2. This post made me tear up. What a wonderful heritage. And a great reminder for me to appreciate those blessings of family and the godly legacy they give us. Finn is blessed to be added to this family!

  3. Such a sweet post, Ash. I’ve always admired your confidence and assurance, and I don’t doubt that these memories play a huge part in who you are. I love it. I will do the same for my kids one day, so thanks for sharing!

  4. I’ve shed more tears over this iPhone reading your blog, being so touched by your writings. Ashley, your a gifted author and I hope to have a book you wrote on my shelf someday! So blessed by you.

  5. Pingback: Undeserved Blessings | our invincible summers

Leave a Reply

