Keep Your Head Up

Our mission this week is the first of many teaching Finn to keep his head up. This time, however, it’s literal. Prompted by the pediatrician, we want him to lift and hold his head at a 45 degree angle. His neck is very strong, but it’s no match for his heavy head! We’re starting on the Boppy and then working toward lifting from a flat surface. I already admire the perseverance of this kid. He has always been a fighter. Joey and I are going to have to get comfortable watching him struggle to figure things out and to move his body. We want him to be as self-sufficient as possible and never want to disable him by our pity. This will be a tougher task than I anticipate, I’m sure.

5 thoughts on “Keep Your Head Up

  1. Great parenting Ash and Joey! Finn will appreciate how you allowed him to struggle and discover his strengths and weaknesses. Parenting is not for the faint of heart, that’s for sure. I see progress already, little buddy. Nana

  2. I love that you have already started thinking about how your attitude will effect his capabilities. it is so true. One thing that I have also found though is that it becomes easier just to do things for them for the sake of time. It is so hard not to fall into this trap. Be aware of that, because it can harm him and you all at the same time.
    I love keeping up with ya’ll. When I read the post about the SB parents guide book I suggested ya’ll get, my heart sank. That is the same point in the book where I got stuck. I didn’t think my heart could bear that, and honestly I (almost) hate going to the park with other people, but Elena loves it. She loves watching and laughing and playing with the other kids, even if it is from a distance. Plus the swings are her favorite thing in the world! It is more difficult for me than it is for her. I realize she is just under 2 and hasn’t comprehended all that is happening yet, but she is not dumb either. She is learning about her body more each day. There will be a time when it may not be so fun for her, but that isn’t today. (I think this is turning into more of a comment for myself than for ya’ll.) Anyways, as for the rest of the book, it is not always easy to read, and maybe especially now. Take your time on it. You have a long time to continue to learn.
    Sending love and compassion
    Kayla

    • PS. I don’t want to discourage you from reading it though. I should just say that, just in case. It is good and very needed for learning and taking care of Finn, but there is time. Rome wasn’t built in a day.

  3. Sweet baby. He is so blessed to have you as parents. “…never want to disable him by our pity”, very beautiful, very profound.

Leave a Reply

