Weak Things

strong boy

I flipped to Corinthians because it was my go-to “easy read.” Like Psalms and Proverbs. You know, it’s easy to swallow…nothing heavy like Ezekiel or Job or Leviticus, for Heaven’s sake. But I soon made it to this passage:

But God chose the foolish things of the world to shame the wise; God chose the weak things of the world to shame the strong. He chose the lowly things of this world and the despised things–and the things that are not–to nullify the things that are, so that no one may boast before him. (1:27-29)

Whoa…ugh, choking here! I’m learning more and more that God is a paradox. I cannot, despite my most valiant efforts, understand Him. He is unpredictable and wild. I love Mr. Beaver’s insight in The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe: “He isn’t safe, but He’s good.”

I think Finn will understand these verses in 1 Corinthians better than I ever will because he has physical, actual, permanent weakness. His legs and feet just don’t work the way they should. Chances are, he’ll never walk. (Aside from his many other Spina Bifida-related health complications). For some reason God chooses weakness to “shame the strong.” I don’t believe for a second that Finn is privileged or morally superior because he has a disability. Or that able-bodied children/people should be “shamed.” Nonsense. These verses and Finn’s impairment simply make me re-evaluate what I believe strength to be. When I hold him close at night before releasing him to his crib, I pray Finn will be strong in ways that matter more than kicking or jumping or mountain biking (but I pray for those things too).

tired boy

It seems the purpose for this upside-down way of evaluating wisdom, strength and validity is so that we cannot boast. Boasting is ugly…even our unspoken boasts. Verse 31 of the same chapter says if we boast, we should “boast in the Lord.” And 2 Corinthians chapter 12 allows us only to boast in our weakness. Well, that’s no fun. The weak things are the strong things. The foolish things are the wise things. The things that aren’t, are.

10 thoughts on “Weak Things

  1. Thank you for sharing Ashley, you are gifted in your words. Almost every blog brings tears to my eyes. You and your family are learning so much. Through all of this the Lord is giving you such wisdom and insight. I’m excited to see all that the Lord will continue to do through you, and all the ways you will be able to encourage other moms and families that are affected by Spina Bifida. Jesus is truly teaching you how to see through the Father’s eyes. You are a woman of wisdom, and your words bless and encourage more people than you know.

  2. Not fun at all, but good. Good good good. We praise the Lord with you, Ashley! The way this journey is unfolding for you all is inspiring to me. Thanks for sharing your heart with us all.

  3. Ashley, you’re wise way beyond your years. God has certainly given you a gift with words. Praying for your sweet family and I am so encouraged by each of your post. May your day be filled with blessings.

  4. you keep working those little legs and we’ll keep praying that good things WILL happen…miracles do happen….love GG&GG

  5. Love your heart dear friend and how the Lord is using you and your precious boy to reveal more of Himself to so many of us! Thank you for seeing Him in all of these difficult places!

  6. Thank you for your words of wisdom, your words of truth that give hope to us all. I picture the LG sitting around in your living room hearing you say these words and us all praying these things together. I love and miss you, Ash!

  7. Pingback: Winter’s Lion | our invincible summers

Leave a Reply

