Candy Baby

I’m not a poet. I used to teach a creative writing unit when I was a high school English teacher, and I’m sure I enjoyed the literary analysis much more than my students. But I’m not a poet. Finn’s face, however, inspires creative thought and delicious metaphor for this infatuated momma.

Sugar cookie dough skin

And licorice lips;

Eyes like blueberries

And a watermelon tongue.

Gumdrop nose and

Marshmallow cheeks;

Belly full of honey,

A pair of soft, peach fuzzy ears

And wet strawberry kisses

Make you the sweetest,

Yummiest

Candy baby around.

4 thoughts on “Candy Baby

  1. Pingback: Survival of the Sweetest | our invincible summers

Leave a Reply

