Greatness

It’s 10:30pm and Joey and I have a difficult decision to make: do we go to bed or do we watch our recorded Olympic highlights? Watch the Olympics.

I’ve been a sappy mess since the games began. All the American Dream vignettes choke me up, especially the Somalian refugee marathoner. Then there’s the Kenyan woman who runs to basically feed her family, the South African double amputee with the humble heart of gold and the South African girl who endured a humiliating gender controversy.

The commercials are just as gut-wrenching! Nike’s Find Your Greatness campaign was stellar. Have you seen the one of the sweaty, overweight kid running toward the camera?

Nike’s voice: “Somehow we’ve come to believe that greatness is only for the chosen few; for the superstars. The truth is, greatness is for all of us. This isn’t about lowering expectations; it’s about raising them for every last one of us. “

Ugh! Tears were streaming down my face the first (and fourth) time I saw this commercial and others like it. I believe this precept. I preach it. My clients know it. Finn will know it well. We are all called to do great things with what we’re given. Whether that’s legs that work or legs that don’t. Wealth or poverty.

“Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize” (1 Cor. 9:24).

“Whatever you do [teach, write, run, play, parent, sell, minister, coach, create, speak, manage…], work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men” (Col. 3:23).

We all have greatness within us, especially as believers. He’s given us all we need; all the potential to accomplish great things. The Olympic athletes have taught me to be the best version of myself.

To find my greatness.

Though I’m sad the Olympics is reaching its finish line, I am looking forward to a couple more hours of sleep.

3 thoughts on “Greatness

  1. You have voiced my thoughts on greatness as well! and on the Olympics! This is the first year that I have been able to watch and enjoy so much – one of the perks of being retired. You and Joey and especially “Mr. Finn” will remain in our prayers. He is making such great progress. Thanks for letting us share in your journey!
    Linda

Leave a Reply

