Water Gushed Out

Finn’s not feeling well today. Slight fever last night, glassy eyes and lots of drainage. As he naps, I listen to the summer rain beat softly against our back windows; I close my eyes and transport myself to Durango, Colorado. I’m lying in our tent beside Lime Creek. It’s about sixty-five degrees. I snuggle into my down sleeping bag, curl my toes and breathe in the crisp pine air. Joey reads a thick scholarly book on top of his bag next to me.

Deep, contented sigh. I’m so thankful I have these beautiful moments in time to relocate my mind. I’m so thankful today for the rain that blew in on indigo clouds and lasted for hours. The kind of rain that makes our grass smile and birds come out to play.

Beautiful, restorative rain.

Drink this in:

Isaiah 48:21 “They did not thirst when he led them through the deserts; he made water flow for them from the rock; he split the rock and water gushed out.”

Amen.

3 thoughts on “Water Gushed Out

  1. Jonathan and I often say how thankful we are for our pre-children travels. On those hard days in the trenches of parenthood, it’s nice to have a variety of memories to which we can transport ourselves. And don’t you know that someday when our kids are grown and gone we’ll probably transport ourselves to the days of snuggling with sick babies? 🙂

  2. Pingback: Living the Adventure | our invincible summers

Leave a Reply

