In Stripes

My rule: when I acquire a new clothing item, I must give one away. So I was cleaning out my closet today and found a couple “gems” that I can’t believe had graced my body. Funny to think about how my style has changed over the years. I’m not the most trendy dresser…I wait to see which trends will last a while and then I hop on the bandwagon rather late. Just bought my first pair of colored jeans a month ago. Okay, that’s also because last year I was pregnant and buying skinny red jeans would have been depressing. The common thread in my wardrobe: stripes. I love stripes.

Before bed last night Joey and I were clicking back through our Finn Joseph photo album. These included a picture of me in the hospital holding room where I waited for my “cut time” (that’s not scary or anything…) in a backless gown with a gaping hole over my pregnant belly button (you know these hideous gowns, moms). There was also Finn’s first photo once extracted from my womb and proud Daddy Joey holding him like he were a trophy. Many of these pictures produced tears as we remembered those incredibly tough first weeks and saw our son, now chubby and healthy and happy, with a feeding tube in his mouth, surgery prep fluid caked on his skin and way-too-sticky detector nodes stuck between his shoulder blades. We literally gasped at some pictures–we had purposely forgotten how bad it was. Looking back made us realize how far Finn has come…how far the Lord has brought us in six months.

I think it’s important to look back. To remember your “Egypt.”

“Remember that you were slaves in Egypt and that the Lord your God brought you out of there with a mighty hand and an outstretched arm” (Deuteronomy 5: 15).

Mmm…I like that: “outstretched arm.” It makes me think He’s pursuing me; He’s extending Himself on my behalf.

Resting.

Immediately following this verse is the commandment to observe the Sabbath day. Rest. Think about what the Lord has done for you; how He’s brought freedom from your own personal captivities. Chew on it slowly. Digest it. Then take a deep breath and rest in it. Sabbath.

Looking back reminds us where we’ve come from and challenges us to think about who we are now. I sure hope I’m a better wife, daughter, sister, trainer, and friend now than I was a year ago. A better version of Ashley Dawn. In stripes.

2 thoughts on “In Stripes

  1. Goodness Ashley Dawn In Stripes…I adore you. I love how you rest in His presence and give Him so much glory. Look at where Finn has brought all of us. I am beyond thankful for YOU, for Joey and for the sweet miracle of Finn Joseph and I can’t wait to see what else you all teach me through his life. I too have experienced new freedom and am so thankful for it! God is good!

Leave a Reply

