Baby Church

One generous infant gave Finn RSV (Respiratory Syncytial Virus) for Christmas. Everyone keeps telling me Finn’s immune system will become so strong from daycare…when does that kick in, exactly?

We had planned to drive to Tulsa after church today to make it for Joey’s mom’s family Christmas get together. Change of plans. Finn needs to rest and get over this wheezy cough (he’s on antibiotics and breathing treatments) and we don’t want to infect cousin Everett.

So, while Daddy led worship at church this morning, Finn and I decided to have a service of our own. Baby Church.

photo-178The organphoto-176

The Wordphoto-177

The congregationphoto-175

We sang songs to the hum of the Vick’s vaporizing humidifier, Finn played multiple instruments at once thanks to Baby Einstein, and I read from Really Woolly’s Bedtime Prayers. Oftentimes I prefer the theology of children to that of adults. It’s simpler; less contaminated. I don’t know about Finn, but I was ministered to by this little poem:

The Lord, He is my Shepherd;

He keeps me by His side.

He guards my steps

And holds my hand,

In case I slip or slide.

The Lord, He is my hero;

He rescues me from harm.

From troubles big

And worries small,

From danger and alarm.

The past three months have been difficult. From Finn’s penal surgery at the end of September when he couldn’t pee on his own to a month of frustrating doctor appointments that culminated in an emergency shunt revision, to eye surgery and now RSV. We are exhausted by our son being uncomfortable and in pain. I’m sooooo over it.

This morning I’m praising God for being my hero and rescuing me from “troubles big and worries small.”

Father, grant us a peaceful 2013.

7 thoughts on “Baby Church

  1. Ashley,
    I absolutely love reading your blog! You are such an excellent mom and Finn is growing up to be such a handsome little man! Merry Christmas to all of you and a happy new year!

  2. This is totally supporting the belief….church is the people and not always the building…church can happen anywhere!! Way to go momma Ashley! Love you girl and Mr. Finn

Leave a Reply

