I am Martha

I never really liked the story of Mary and Martha, the sisters of Lazarus. I think it’s because Mary is the imitable one, and I know deep down I’m more of a Martha. If you’re unfamiliar, Jesus and his buds stopped by Martha’s house on a journey. Mary, her sister, “sat at the Lord’s feet, listening to what he said.” Martha, however, “was distracted by the preparations that had to be made” (Luke 10:38-42). Someone’s gotta prepare the food and clean the floor, right?

Today’s Jesus Calling entry reminded me of my Martha-dom.

Do not skimp on our time together. Resist the clamor of tasks waiting to be done. You have chosen what is better, and it will not be taken away from you.

I’ve been “skimping” on listening-to-Jesus-time. As I look back to Christmas, I think I was even too “distracted by the preparations” that I missed my own personal, intimate devotion with the Jesus of whose birth I celebrate.

When I think of this type of devotion, I hearken back to my most intimate moments with God. I was on the second floor of WMU dormitory…burnt popcorn and perfume wafting through the halls. My freshman self closed the old wooden door to the prayer closet, flicked off the light, and knelt on a musty pillow to pray. Sometimes crying, sometimes smiling, sometimes listening and oftentimes accidentally falling asleep.

I need this kind of closet time with Jesus. I recognize this because fifteen minutes ago, as I placed Finn down into his crib and carefully, silently shut the door to his nursery, I began searching for the next task to check off my list and the next surface to clean before I hear him whimper awake. Instead, I should take at least a bit of this alone time to be Mary. To listen to Him and revel in His presence.

“Martha, Martha, the Lord answered, you are worried and upset about many things, but only one thing is needed. Mary has chosen what is better, and it will not be taken away from her.”

Here I am, typing while I should be listening. I’m going to go choose what is better. Peace.photo-184

5 thoughts on “I am Martha

  1. Being a Martha, both literally and figuratively I so understand what you are saying…also, I just could eat up Finn with those big blue eyes looking out at us from the page…

  2. I know more Marthas than Marys and yes I am a Martha too. I know what He asks of me and I desire to spend more and more time alone with him. Thank you for this reminder. Give Mr. Blue Eyes there a kiss and a hug from me.

Leave a Reply

