A Standing Ovation

photo-189I finished reading the book, Wonder, by R.J. Palacio last night. Joey’s sister, Leah, got it for him for Christmas. She is a reading whiz…seriously, she’s read just about every book ever published and finishes the page before I even turn it. This New York Times Bestseller is the fictional story of August Pullman, a fifth grader born with a facial deformity that kept him from venturing into public school–until now. His humor, honesty, vulnerability, heartbreak and quest for true friendship is captivating. If I wasn’t a multi-tasker, I would never have put the book down. You MUST read it!

I connected with Auggie’s parents’ tension between wanting him to become independent and embrace his uniqueness and the fear that he would, like so many other instances, be rejected and made fun of. Because kids (well, people, really) can be mean. I know I was…sometimes without even intending to be. I still regret making fun of a girl’s stinky feet in the 8th grade locker room. I’m pretty sure it made me feel better because I was a sorry excuse for a point guard.

Without ruining it for you, the ending is precious. Auggie learns the value of friendship, kindness and bravery and is honored because of it. Of one my favorite quotes:

“I think it should be a rule that everyone in the world should get a standing ovation at least once in their lives.”

I agree; don’t you?

If you were to receive a standing ovation, what would yours be for? I’d like to receive a standing ovation for a great meal made for great friends. Or for a mind-blowing spin class. Or when I was an English teacher, I imagined the students giving me a standing ovation for the Great Gatsby lesson I spent hours planning. Didn’t happen.

If Finn gave me a standing ovation (at any point in his life), I’d pee my pants with delight.

8 thoughts on “A Standing Ovation

  1. I love you sweet sister and am so glad you enjoyed the book. I knew you would. πŸ˜‰
    Hmmmmm. I think I would like to receive a standing ovation for getting dinner on the table before 8pm.

  2. HI! I’m so glad that you found our blog! I was just looking through yours, and your Finn is an adorable little fighter! Reminds me so much of Grey at that age. πŸ™‚ My email is leighegibbs@sbcglobal.net if you ever need a safe SB place to vent, or ask questions, or anything. I’m here. πŸ™‚ Give Finn a big high five from Grey!!

  3. I’d give you a standing ovation for the incredible mom you are. Seriously…you’ve only been a mom 1 week longer than I have yet you have years or wisdom already.

Leave a Reply

