Where You Shine

photo-198All Sons and Daughters performed a concert at our church this evening. They are this hipster man and woman team, Leslie and David, accompanied tonight by a talented cellist named Cara with cool bangs. David plays the piano and sings with a smooth, raspy voice. Leslie strums the guitar with grace and groove, and the purity of her voice is so easy to listen to. It reflects her beautiful heart. Joey orchestrated the concert, and it was so fun to see it all come together. Finn and I were deemed cool enough to join them all for lunch at Victoria’s. Fun people. Yummy food. If you’re not familiar with their music, I suggest listening to their album, The Longing.photo-199

As I was sitting at a stop light on Main St. after lunch, Finn babbling in his car seat, I watched a blind woman walk down the sidewalk with only her white stick to guide her. I was amazed at how brave she was to walk completely in the dark, trusting the touch of her stick to keep her away from passing cars and dog poop. I was in awe. I thought about how sometimes I think I’m in the dark. Like how it’s difficult to trust the unknown future, to step forward in uncertainty. I wish I had her kind of bravery.

This scenario fit well with one of my fav songs by All Sons and Daughters, “Oh How I Need You”:

Light glorious light
I will go where You shine
Break the dawn , crack the skies
Make the wave right before me
In Your light I will find
All I need, all I need is Youphoto-197

One thought on “Where You Shine

  1. We LOVE them! I’m so sad I didn’t know they were going to be in Norman I would’ve really tried to be there! They are so my favorites these days!

Leave a Reply

