The Sippy Cup

Who knew a cup could cause so much frustration?!

Finn had his one year check up last Wednesday. All is well, and this 22 pounder is developing just fine. However, the doctor challenged us to get rid of his bottles and get him to drink only from sippy cups. We’ve attempted this for the past few months, but now it’s crunch time.

He hates them. Every kind…and we’ve tried just about every kind: the ones with the straw, the soft plastic nipple, the hard lids, the ones with handles, recycled “green” cups…it’s a scream fest every time.photo

You’d think this was a really big deal. I’m dreaming about sippy cups, worried about every meal time and I know my friends are tired of hearing about my cup drama.

What’s really going on here? Who cares if Finn prefers a cup with a lid instead of a nipple at twelve months old? I mean, he’ll catch on sooner or later. Or at least peer pressure will set in around age 3, right?

What’s really going on is that I’m afraid of Finn getting behind. He’s behind in so many ways. And always will be…but I just thought maybe he could be “on par” with his peers concerning the plastic beverage container.

I need to get over this. He will do things in his time; and probably quicker without my prodding.

In fact, tonight, we handed him the cup he refused red-faced last night. Joey set it in his lap and we walked away. He drank the whole thing and whimpered when it was finished. I love this boy, and I have to let him learn outside the standards of the “norm.”photo-1

11 thoughts on “The Sippy Cup

  1. I went through the same thing with Isaac, trying all sorts of cups for weeks and thinking he was never going to learn how to drink out of a sippy cup–with the reality in the back of my mind that at some point he was going to have to learn how to drink out of a REAL cup. The “guidelines” can drive a mama crazy.

  2. Um, confession time. Ev still drinks from the bottle. There. I’ve said it. Whew. That’s a load off. ๐Ÿ™‚
    ‘”I love this boy, and I have to let him learn outside the standards of the โ€œnorm.โ€’ This is a good reminder for all parents. I love you sister!

  3. You are right not to worry. We all want our children to perform at times, but you will find that with boys it just has to be their idea and their time. Talk to Kayla about Cason and his potty training. Quite funny. Just this week, all his toys went in to the valley where the dinosaurs live (guest closet) and when he poops in potty he can get a toy out of the valley. It worked today, but who knows about tomorrow. Raising children are so much fun.

  4. I think it’s Stew’s fault. I saw him talking to Finn at church on Sunday and overheard him telling him that he got his mommy and daddy to let him have a bottle looooong after the 12 month mark. And I mean loooong. I’m afraid Finn might have taken that as a challenge. ๐Ÿ™‚ Love you guys!!

  5. Switching to milk in sippy cups is a tricky deal. There was definitely a transition time for us, but it wasn’t too long after 12 months that Duke started getting the hang of it. I was the overly-concerned mom who was worried that he wasn’t getting enough calories and would starve to death. Of course, everything turned out just fine and Duke totally adjusted after realizing it was sippy or nothin’! You’re doing a great job and this is true – “his time” is usually a lot faster than “my frantic/worried/control-freak time.” ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. My little SB baby is the same way, except it took him until he was 15 months to drink voluntarily from a sippy cup. We figured out it was completely behavioral not developmental. Sounds the same way with Finn. They are just wanting to do things on their own time, their own way and no one is gonna force ’em. It is infuriating, but I think they are going to need that fighter’s spirit…so thank you, God!

  7. With those eyes and smile nana B will probably let him have what he wants!!! Love that boy! You and joe are doing great!

  8. I can’t tell you how many moms I know whose babies drink bottles way into the second year…no biggie…take your time! Rhett isn’t crazy about sippy cups either, although ironically the one he occasionally snags from his big brother and actually drinks out of is the cheap-o “Take and Toss” cup! Figures, considering how much dough I’ve spent trying to find one he likes…he would pick the cheapest one that I never actually gave him on purpose! ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Let him be a happy baby and keep his bottle. I teach school and am yet to see a kindergartener show up with a bottle.My little girl kept hers until about 20 months and is doing fine as a healthy 6 year old. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

