I Am

This “name of God” always confused me as a kid…and frustrated me as an English teacher. You can’t use a personal pronoun and a “to be” verb phrase as a proper name. It just doesn’t make sense.

At some point in my adult life, this short phrase/name of the Father morphed into one of my favorites. The Great I Am. It’s like He’s responding to all our self-conscious, doubting, frantic questions with a simple answer, “I Am.”

Who is the One that redeemed me from myself?

Who is making me new?

Who is it that orchestrated all the details of this adventure story called my life?

Who is in control?

Who loves me when I’m unloveable?

Who is my Father?

Who is our Healer?

Who is whispering truth into my ear?

When life is confusing and painful, who is the One I really need?

Perhaps He’s even the answer to some tough questions. I’ll let you create them for yourself. Our God is a mystery; even His name is enigmatic.

I love how this label of God is active. It’s not past or future; it’s now. Present. I believe that’s how God interacts with time. Everything is happening presently. This is probably why it seems His timetable and mine never quite coincide. I’m impatient, and if I had my way, Finn would have said “mama” yesterday, the doctor would have arrived several hours sooner, healing would have come a year ago, and my Starbucks beverage would be steaming at the drive thru just a few minutes earlier.

I’m thankful He is “I Am-ing” in my life, whether I recognize the everyday miracles or not.

Roomie Reunion this weekend. These girls are the best!

Roomie Reunion this weekend. These girls are the best!

Silly Aunt Jane came to visit all the way from Houston!

Silly Aunt Jane came to visit all the way from Houston!

Leave a Reply

