Cooped Up

Sometimes I just feel claustrophobic. Like I need to GET OUT. Usually this means I’ve spent too much time indoors.

I blame this on my parents. Every vacation growing up was outdoors. Hiking, rafting, fishing, hunting, kayaking, swimming, water skiing, camping. We even stayed at Camp Mickey when we had a family reunion at Disney World. My parents honeymooned in a cabin in the Boundary Waters of northern Minnesota. I used to think we were kind of dorks–staying in a tent or pop up camper for our vacations while all my friends stayed in nice hotels and beach resorts. But then I realized my friends’ moms couldn’t start a campfire or take a fish off a hook and their dads didn’t teach them how to spot an eagle on a far off tree branch or count the points on a buck in the forest.

Now I appreciate all those adventurous outdoor vacations. We plan to replicate them. Sorry it took me so long, mom and dad.

This weekend I finally made it out. We drove down to the Wichita Mountains for a hike. photo-4

photo-6

Jersey was the perfect guide, leading us energetically and with perfect directional sense. She had a blast, and Finn did too.

photo-5

photo-7

Girl loves to swim

It was way too windy, but Oklahoma weather has been a bit schizophrenic lately, so you have to take what you can get.

photo-2

Made it to the top of Elk Mnt. Picnic!

That evening we went to a fun birthday party for our friends, Gabe and Olive. It was at a farm. We roasted hotdogs around a bonfire while the kids rode a train and trotted on ponies. I was thinking this actually may be a birthday party Finn could participate in someday. It was a beautiful, chilly night. I purposefully didn’t take a shower so I could smell the campfire in my hair just one day longer. I know; gross.

Twinsies in our plaid and shades.

Twinsies in our plaid and shades.

Sometimes don’t you just feel cooped up? Stuck under piles of laundry and opened envelopes on the counter, smashed between groceries that need to be put away, folded under sheets that need to be changed, lost under scattered puzzle pieces. I felt tired of being a parent this weekend. I just wanted to go back to the days under my parents’ roof. When life was simpler and my questions for God weren’t so big and unanswerable.

Usually this means I haven’t been in the Word.

So I took some time to read my Bible alone on Saturday morning, talk through life with Joey, and shed some cathartic tears for Finn during my “nap.” Feeling better.

Matthew penned it best:

28 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy and my burden is light” (Matt. 11:28-30). 

6 thoughts on “Cooped Up

  1. Random reader and just have a silly question. Where did you get the pants and shoes that you went hiking in?

    Funny, I always envied the families who went on vacation and did fun, active things rather than just a resort or theme park. 🙂

  2. Ashley, this is Julie Reagan from OBU. I found your blog recently and love it. Thank you for sharing–I always feel inspired and challenged after reading one of your posts. I, too, have felt cooped up lately so this really encouraged me.

    Also, Finn is a cutie! But that goes without saying 🙂

  3. Pingback: Outdoor Fix | our invincible summers

Leave a Reply

