Thirty

I turned 30 on Thursday, June 6th.

Joey shoe-polished my car. :)

Joey shoe-polished my car. 🙂

It was a glorious day. Beautiful spring/summer weather. I trained eager and energetic clients, taught a fun spin class where they asked me 30 questions while we rode, trained my mom (a special treat), snuggled with Finn, took a road ride with Joey and enjoyed a long, slow dinner with fantastic friends at Packard’s New American Kitchen in Midtown OKC.

photo-1

Joey made the day special in so many ways: a banner, balloons, hydrangeas, and he made me wear this flashing birthday necklace at dinner.

photo-3My mom was in town all week, my dad came in for the weekend and Joey’s parents came down Saturday.

Nana Deb taught Finn how to make movies on the iphone.

Nana Deb taught Finn how to make movies on the iphone.

Fun with Nana Bec

Fun with Nana Bec

Sweet Laura made this for me! See Martha Stewart's website to make your own.

Sweet Laura made this for me! See Martha Stewart’s website to make your own.

I felt so special; so blessed and so thankful.

In thirty years, I’ve gained…a rock star husband and his family, a startlingly funny and joyful son named Finn Joseph and a new perspective on ability and disability because of him. A few fantastic recipes, a c-section scar and a collection of new wrinkles around my eyes and mouth. Life-long friends, an undergraduate and masters degree, a slower metabolism but a faster cycling cadence. A deeper understanding of God’s love for me but less understanding of His mysterious purposes. A heart teeming with gratitude for His blessings, and a hunger for another thirty years…or so.

2 thoughts on “Thirty

Leave a Reply

