Worry

My grandparents had a lake house in Minnesota. Mom’s side of the family used it for vacations during the summer and weekends. It was a three-level “A” frame cabin with bright red carpet, a screened porch, a hammock stretched between two aspens and wooden stairs that seemed to stretch downward to the lake for miles. Gunk Gunk, the pet frog, lived on the shore.

My most favorite childhood memories are of fourth of July’s and summers spent at the lake. I learned to water ski when I was five and loved when Grandpa would take all of us cousins out to the middle of the lake, hand us each a sponge and tell us to, “Jump off the boat and scrub!” Cleaning was never so fun.

The lake meant rest for my family. A place to leave your worries.

I’m a professional worrier.

I’ve been doing it for at least twenty-five years now, sometimes daily; and although I’ve gotten better in recent years, I still struggle with worrying about the future.

I think I do this because I like control. And I can’t control the future, so instead I worry about it. I’m worried that by telling you I worry you’ll think I don’t have my worrying under control. πŸ˜‰ Stupid.

The opposite of worry, I think, is trust. The more I trust God with my life and my moments and my people, the less I worry.

Jesus says in the Sermon on the Mount, “But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things [necessities from previous verses] will be given to you as well. Therefore, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matt. 6: 33,34).

I’m so thankful my parents are able to continue this lake legacy. They recently sold their home in San Antonio and moved to Bella Vista, AR. photo-1 photo-2 photo-5 photo-6

They live in the most beautiful home right on a private lake, Loch Lomond. It’s more like a treehouse than a home, actually.photo-3 photo-4

I love that Finn will grow up with similar childhood memories as me.

This weekend was the last and only of the summer that we could make the four hour drive out there, so we invited some friends to follow along. It was so much fun to share it with them.the boys9484032672_bdd7ebec3e_z

Feeding the koi fish.

Feeding the koi fish.

Aaron and Finn

Aaron and Finn

9481220197_94ebb24dc6_z 9484003258_fd434ab59c_z

My grandparents (the ones who owned the lake house in MN) also bought a home near my parents, so we were able to hug their necks this weekend too. I’ve said it before…but in terms of family, Joey and I are filthy rich.

Gigi, Poppy and Finn

Gigi, Poppy and Finn

Gigi (great grandma) and Finn playing catch

Gigi (great grandma) and Finn playing catch

At the lake, I tend not to worry too much. 9481199981_e291f0656a_z 9481187099_dfe159644b_z

The trees are so beautiful and the wind feels so good in my face and I love the sound of the water lapping the wooden planks of the dock. Tomorrow has enough worries; right?

Finn never worries.

Finn never worries.

5 thoughts on “Worry

  1. Finn knows that God has him in his hands. He also knows the love of family, outdoors, laughter, a cool breeze on his face and the splashing of the water. God gives his living water for you to take in and your parents have given you a place on the water to wash away the cares of the day.

  2. Hey Ash and Joey, I have been slowly catching up with Finn’s story. What an incredible testimony. I am inspired by all you guys have been through and your faithful endurance in the midst of it all. I hope to stay in touch…praying for you both and your precious little one!

    p.s. JP will be enjoying your book in the near future! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

