Whisper

Today, 9-11, is a day no American should allow to slip past their memory. Our nation’s vulnerability and colossal strength were displayed almost simultaneously. I’m grateful today for those who lost their lives and those who risked their own to save others.

9:11 is also important to Joey and I because it’s the time Finn was born on February 27th. A nurse called out his weight, height and time of birth as I lay on the frigid steel operation table. Joey and I looked at each other in surprise (not the most promising of times: 911 the emergency number, Twin Towers crumbled to the ground on that fateful day…). I asked the nurse if she could just change it by a minute. Make it 9:12? Pulll–ease? She said that was illegal. We said we wouldn’t tell. She wasn’t amused.

So Finn was born at 9:11am.

Does God ever do sweet little things for you? Personal, intimate little things that no one else would really even notice, but they are a reminder to you that He cares? My friend, Christina, introduced me to this idea in college. She said every time she hears a dove coo, she remembers God is near.

Since Finn’s birth, it seems anytime Joey and I check the clock, it’s 9:11. Seriously. It’s weird. And I’m not even trying to make it happen…I’m not waiting around at 9:10 to watch it turn. I check my phone or the oven or my car’s clock, and it’s 9:11.

These pics are of the lock home screen on my iPhone. Just nine of literally dozens of 9:11’s I captured on my phone, and many more went undocumented. A silly reminder to Joey and I that God cares for us.

If you can’t think of a way God “speaks” personally to you, ask Him to. I believe that prayer will be quickly answered. He shows up in some of the least expected places.

As found in 1 Kings 19, the Lord “was not in the wind…the earthquake…or the fire.” He was in the whisper.

7 thoughts on “Whisper

  1. 1 Kings 19….have you read every scripture that has a reference with a 9 and two 1’s? πŸ˜‰ Love the details of the way the Lord reminds us of His presence. Thanks for sharing!

  2. As I read this the hair stood up on the back of my neck. On July 29, 2012 I gave birth via C-section to my Finn Joseph. The doctor called out the time he was born and it was 9:11am. My husband and I looked at each other in shock of the time and my husband said to me, we will never forgot the time he was born.

Leave a Reply

