Sexy on the Inside

Our home is small. Cozy, comfy and I can hear my family from any room. Two big oaks bookend the house from the front and backyard. I love it.

The only problem with its diminutive size is that I also love to host. I love the buzz of people in my home with glasses and tummies full of delicious food and drink. I just don’t have much space to entertain without knocking down a couple walls.

But for the last four weeks I’ve had the pleasure of hosting about a dozen beautiful college girls in my living room for coffee, dessert and a Bible study of becoming “sexy on the inside.” I borrowed this phrase from Rob Bell:

The other day my five-year-old son asked my wife, “Mom, what does sexy mean?” She thought about it for a second, and then replied, “Sexy is when it feels good to be in your own skin. Your own body feels right, it feels comfortable. Sexy is when you love being you.” Because it all starts with being sexy on the inside. (Sex God)

I had the pleasure of doing a similar study with my girl’s Bible study at Baylor. Miss you, ladies.

Laura (who was co-teaching with me) and I came up with three attributes that make a woman sparkle from the inside-out:

Self-confidence and identity rooted firmly in Christ

Don’t you know that you yourselves are God’s temple and that God’s Spirit dwells in your midst? If anyone destroys God’s temple, God will destroy that person; for God’s temple is sacred, and you together are that temple.” (1 Cor. 3:16,17)

Gratitude, or Eucharisteo

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.” (Phil. 4:6)

“Give thanks in all circumstances.” (1 Thess. 5:18)

Humility

“Clothe yourselves with humility toward one another, because ‘God opposes the proud, but shows favor to the humble.’ Humble yourselves, then, under God’s mighty hand that He may lift you up in due time.” (1 Pet. 5:5)

“Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. But in humility, consider others more important than yourself.” (Phil 2:3)

Can you imagine what the world would be like if we behaved as though others were more important than ourselves? How we would drive?

Every woman wants to be and feel beautiful, but no amount of makeup or designer clothing or expensive highlights can cover up an insecure, ungrateful and prideful heart.DSC_1559

Only Christ makes me “sexy on the inside,” and I’m daily due for a makeover.

4 thoughts on “Sexy on the Inside

Leave a Reply

