Jesus Paid It All

We sang my very favorite hymn this morning in church. My eyes well with tears and my stomach quivers every time these lyrics pass my tongue. I feel the Spirit thick around and within me, and I’m compelled to respond.

I hear the Savior say,
“Thy strength indeed is small;
Child of weakness, watch and pray,
Find in Me thine all in all.”

Jesus paid it all,
All to Him I owe;
Sin had left a crimson stain,
He washed it white as snow.photo

So, here’s the truth: Jesus has redeemed my life. There’s no other way to explain it. I was crimson and lost and He found me and washed me white. All life’s questions–why I’m here, what’s my purpose, why so much bad, why should I be good, who am I–are answered in Him. I don’t really even understand it and sometimes Scripture sounds crazy to me. But I believe He is all I need.

Humans are relational by nature. We commune, we marry, we procreate, we communicate. Humans need other humans to be healthy. So it makes sense, then, that we have a relational Creator. One who is Three. One who loved His perfect Son, but released Him to the earth to show us imperfect humans how to live and how to die.

He paid it all for me. And for you.

Guilt. Shame. Fear. Greed. Lust. Pain. Neglect. Anger. Frustration. Wrong Motives. Lies. Envy. Death.

This morning I almost audibly heard the Savior speaking to me as a “child of weakness.” I haven’t felt very strong lately. In fact, I’ve felt fragile.

So I should “watch and pray.” Sounds so simple. Watch for His everyday miracles, watch the skies transform above me, watch for His blessings, watch my tongue. And pray. Continually.

“Find in Me thine all in all.” Fullness and richness of life is found in Jesus. Not in Finn or Joey, my career, a self-help book, my friends or myself. All of me and all I do is found in Him. Because He paid it all.

4 thoughts on “Jesus Paid It All

  1. Yes and amen. What an amazing morning of worship. I loved it – please tell Joey. I meant to but forgot.
    “Child of weakness watch and pray
    Find in me thine all and all”
    I cling to it. Love you and your heart, friend.

Leave a Reply

