Oh Baby!

Finn’s going to be a big brother! We are pregnant with Armstrong rascal #2.photo 1

Dr. Stanley gave us good news at our 12 week ultrasound on Monday that this little one appears to be healthy thus far. I never once had a “good appointment” while pregnant with Finn. Honestly; just about every appointment I left in tears. I bled continuously from week 6-17, went to the ER twice, found out Finn had Spina Bifida at the gender reveal appointment, was told he had a chest mass shortly after, hydrocephalus in his brain worsened with every ultrasound…the saga continues.

It’s been hard for me to believe everything is just normal and fine this time.photo

I haven’t been physically sick this pregnancy; just hormonal, sensitive, rude and exhausted. Sorry, Joey. Sorry, clients.

Do you know what a miracle it is that we’re walking around, breathing at a steadied pace and functioning efficiently as humans? There are so many miracles that have to take place for a child to be born–much less to be born healthy. And not all parents or children are afforded this miracle. I am so thankful for these everyday wonders this time around. So, so thankful for this gift of life in my tummy.photo 2

I thought I’d be a basket-case with another pregnancy–paranoid and frantic. I admit, it has been challenging not to worry about this child’s health, but the Lord has been so gracious to help me trust His goodness, regardless of the outcome. Finn is disabled…and he’s a rock star. I’ve been tempted to believe I deserve a healthy baby after what happened to Finn. Oh, but this is such deception. I don’t deserve anything. Any good and perfect gift is from God. And I think the “imperfect” gifts are from Him too.

I guess I can choose to fear or to trust. Fear is so much easier, but trusting is so much better.photo-1

Will you pray with us for the health of this child? Due on our 8 year anniversary: June 30th! πŸ™‚ And pray for my personal health to carry it to term? Oh, and for our hearts to be steadfast and not fearful. There is so much risk and uncertainty in having a child–this we are well aware of. Thanks, friends!

15 thoughts on “Oh Baby!

  1. Ashley, not sure if you remember me…. I’m Jordan and Justin Willis’ mom. Congratulations!! I’ve been following your blog for some time now and I must say you are quite the inspiration!! God has and is using you mightily. Little Finn is such a sweetheart and will be a wonderful big brother!!
    God bless you all.
    Love, Melissa

  2. When I read this I was reminded of your post about children really belonging to God, not the parents. You mentioned the issue of trust. Isn’t it crazy that we struggle to trust a perfect God but at the same time take for granted that God would ever trust us to care for what is his. Numbers 12:7 talks about how God trust Moses and I’m pretty sure he has a great deal of trust in you two. You guys are awesome!

  3. Finn wll be a wonderful big brother because he has been raised by loving parents. I am so happy for your joyous news and will keep you in my prayers. CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!

  4. Oh, my soul. Ashley, I am so happy for you guys. I admit that seeing this baby as he or she grows is going to be very bittersweet for me. Your due date is the EXACT due date of our second baby that we lost – June 30th. What are the odds? I’m thankful that everything looks good so far.

    ~K

  5. How exciting! Such good news. Every pregnancy is a huge risk and a beyond-comprehension-miracle. God is forming that babe in your womb and making him perfect in His sight, even as Finn is. Trust His Heart…. Another opportunity for complete dependence. Will keep you in my Prayers. We just witnessed the miracle of my Joey’s second baby last Friday, Malachi Lewis. Precious!!

Leave a Reply

