21c Museum Hotel

So my parents gave us the best gift for Christmas: a one-night getaway to one of their favorite hotels in Bentonville, 21c Museum Hotel. It’s called 21c because all the art in the hotel is from the 21st century. The company believes contemporary art should be accessible not only to the wealthy, but should be more prevalent in everyone’s lives. They also believe in the revitalization of urban architecture and conservation of resources.

Outdoor art combining urban with natural.

Outdoor art combining urban with natural.

The location in Bentonville is one of 3 in the nation–other locations are in Louisville and Cincinnati. Durham, North Carolina and Lexington, Kentucky are under construction and rumor has it that Oklahoma City may soon be on the list to get one!

I’m no critic, but in my humble opinion, I rate this hotel 5 stars.

Their restaurant, The Hive, was exceptional for both dinner and breakfast

Deeelish, cozy dinner!

Deeelish, cozy dinner!

Complimentary green apple cotton candy at the end of the meal!

Complimentary green apple cotton candy at the end of the meal!

s

farm-to-table breakfast

farm-to-table breakfast

hotel service was fantasticlh copy

a “museum hotel, ” contemporary art is everywherem r h

the fitness room was enviable (want this in my home!). I played solitaire on the treadmill screen while I ran!y

An obese Batman cheered me on from above during my bench press.

An obese Batman cheered me on from above during my bench press.

the location was perfect (situated in the town center, next to food trucks and an outdoor ice skating rink)

I'm still dreaming about the crepe I had from Crepes Paulette...an authentic French crepe truck.

I’m still dreaming about the crepe I had from Crepes Paulette…an authentic French crepe truck.

cc

The original Walton's Five and Dime is a block away.

The original Walton’s Five and Dime is a block away.

Mmm...shakes at the cafe.

Mmm…shakes at the cafe.

beds were oh-so-comfortablee copy

room amenities were perfectg q f

the staff moved iconic green penguins (made from recycled plastic bottles) around the hotel hourly to remind guests to recycle and conserve energyt

and the entire hotel was squeaky clean. Such a unique experience! Thanks, mom and dad! Hope you’ll visit one of these hotels next time you’re in the area.

2 thoughts on “21c Museum Hotel

  1. Love this. I would always rather be gifted an experience or an adventure rather than another ‘thing,’ so this gift looks awesome in my book! Glad you guys guy a little time together.

  2. Pingback: Marriage Muscles | our invincible summers

Leave a Reply

