Winter’s Lion

So this is Winter. High of 16 degrees today and snow off and on for the past week. It doesn’t look like February will relent. More “wintry mix” in the bitter 10 day forecast.

Stepping out the front door on Sunday felt like entering a Winter Wonderland. Finn wasn’t as enthralled, but I felt like a character in Narnia.

Not much to do in the snow when you can't walk or wheel...

Not much to do in the snow when you can’t walk or wheel…

photo 2

My mom read Chad and I the Narnia series before bed when we were kids. I dreamt of ancient castles and wild steeds carrying me to faraway lands.

The lion, Aslan, in these books represents God the Father. He is kind and loving, yet fierce and dangerous. “Safe?…’Course He isn’t safe. But He’s good. He’s the King, I tell you,” says Mr. Beaver.aslan

I’ve found Mr. Beaver’s wise observation to be true in my own spiritual life. I used to think God was predictable; safe…more like a beagle than a lion. But He is anything but predictable. In recent years I’ve witnessed His wildness–an aspect of His character that gives me a new, awe-inspiring respect for Him and His mysterious ways–whether I like them or not.

Hosea 11:10 tells of His ferocity:

They will follow the LORD; he will roar like a lion. When he roars, his children will come trembling from the west.

I love this imagery. As I shiver in my car on the way to work these February mornings, I remember Narnia and its Lion King, who causes my heart to quiver and tremble when He roars my name.

A similar post: Weak Things

3 thoughts on “Winter’s Lion

  1. I love this post and yes God has his ways but we think of every day miracles we hardly notice and we realize how merciful He is. You are wonderful and you are blessed with a wonderful family. God Bless

  2. I’m excited to think about reading the Narnia series to Finn and baby sister, while they are snug in their beds at Nana and Papa’s.

Leave a Reply

