A Dork’s Confession

I’m a dork; an idiot sometimes.

I go through seasons where I feel like I’m apologizing daily to someone about something stupid I said or did. Usually it’s something I said.

I’m there now; making a mess of things. It’s so humbling, isn’t it–to be reminded you’re not at all as together as you thought you were? Far from looking like Christ in all his selfless, holy splendor.

Once I’ve cleaned up the debris with an array of sincerely apologetic paper towels, I’m left humbled. I think this is where God likes me best.

I open my Bible and pretend not to notice Finn is definitely NOT napping

photo

to find some encouragement. Something to make me feel better.

Here’s where He directed me:

“But He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, my power is made perfect in weakness. Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong” (2 Cor. 12: 9,10).

Ugh. Brutal.

I’m reminded that I don’t like to fail. I hate to let people down, and I would prefer to have it all together. In all honesty, I’d just rather be perfect. But, alas, I am not. I’m only strong when I am weak. Only honored when I honor others.

Paul says the only thing worth boasting about are my struggles. It’s not any fun at all and there’s no personal accolade draped around my neck, but I’m being obedient.

So here I am telling you what a loser I am. Because I am; and because it seems it’s part of the process of refinement. I’ll see you again in six months. ๐Ÿ˜‰

 

 

 

One thought on “A Dork’s Confession

  1. I took me time to accept the dork side of myself, for some reason it appears more when you live with someone else, or when you are in a relationship. I wish more women could read your posts, it will certainly make them feel good about themselves ๐Ÿ™‚

    God bless.

Leave a Reply

