Time

So many blog-able moments have come and gone in the past few weeks, I can’t keep up nor remember them well enough to share. My brain cells are certainly circumnavigating to my uterus these days. I didn’t have this “pregnancy brain,” or general loss of mental capacity while pregnant with Finn. I’m training a client and suddenly I’ll stare at a set of dumbbells completely blank…no clue what to do with them. I can’t find anything. I’ll write two identical thank you cards. I mix up my words. I’ve proofread this post five times. No lie.

When it comes to time, I want it to…

S  l  o  w   down with Finn.

Speed up with Paisley.

Multiply with sleep.

Hurry through June so I can get my body back. This one is so foreign to me.

Stand still when I’m with Joey.

Help me remember with a client.

Replay.

Rewind.

Recover all those hours I wasted in college and early marriage worrying and stressing about petty things.

We watched the movie, About Time, last night. I loved it. I cried and laughed. A lot. It has British humor and there are a couple “F” words, but I thought it was fantastic nonetheless. Such a beautiful message about family and living each day fully–the way you would if you could do it all over again. And Rachel McAdams is my fav.

I want to find joy in the last month and a half of this pregnancy, despite my physical discomfort, insomnia and dwindling pile of acceptable garments to wear in public. I don’t want to wish time away, but enjoy being a family of three for just a little longer. I want to get on the floor and play dump trucks with Finn no matter how long it takes me to get back up again. I want to revel in the rain May brings to Oklahoma and not fear its tornadoes. Find beauty in the mundane. Live my life gratefully, unfettered by time.

Snapshots of recent happenings:

Roomie Reunion

Roomie Reunion

Jane came to visit. She's so fun.

Jane came to visit. She’s so fun.

My love bug.

My love bug.

I had a shower! So thankful for these incredible hostesses and friends.

I had a shower! So thankful for these incredible hostesses and friends.

Paisley and I...31 weeks

Paisley and I…31 weeks

Mom and Gram came for the shower. Such a blessing!

Mom and Gram came for the shower. Such a blessing!

Becky, my MIL (and her sister Melinda) came too!

Becky, my MIL (and her sister Melinda) came too!

Joey ran the OKC Memorial Marathon representing FBC Norman and Finn.

Joey ran the OKC Memorial Marathon representing FBC Norman and Finn.

Joey's fan club!

Joey’s fan club!

Nice stride, babe! 1:49!

Nice stride, babe! 1:49!

First bloom. Seeds are planted in the garden. Awaiting its bounty.

First bloom. Seeds are planted in the garden. Awaiting its bounty.

For everything there is an appointed time…

A time to give birth, and a time to die;

a time to plant, and a time to uproot the plant.

A time to kill, and a time to heal;

a time to tear down, and a time to build.

A time to weep, and a time to laugh;

a time to mourn, and a time to dance.

(Eccesiastes 3:1-4)

2 thoughts on “Time

  1. Yep, brought the tears again, my friend. Pleasingly jealous (if you can be that) of the “time” you have to let us in on your musings. It’s been over a month since I’ve had that “sit-down” & the itch is much too great. Challenged to sit – even if my sweet Owens Scott is, for the one-hundredth time, trying to lay back on my lap, where there is less room every day – and write. Get it out, Jayme. It’s truly cleansing for this grateful, yet tired soul. Much love, sojourner.

Leave a Reply

