Receiving

Joey and I have been overwhelmed by financial blessings this past week. I want to give God glory for it, so I’ll share:

My mother-in-law, Becky, made Paisley this quilt and presented it at our Tulsa family shower (thanks, ladies!) last weekend. She’s such a sweetie, that woman.

photo-1

A special couple helped us finish a nagging house project that will prepare our home for Paisley’s arrival. It was an unexpected and incredibly generous gift. Wow.

Another friend surprised me and purchased boarding at Annie’s Ruff House for Jersey–probably more for Jersey’s welfare than for my aching back, to be honest. 🙂 She knows how I can’t stand Jersey when I’m pregnant.

The mud monster at Annie's.

The mud monster at Annie’s.

The dog makes me bend over too much! I sweep up piles of black hair, wipe her muddy paws, put on/take off her collar, trip over her leash on walks, feed her and fill her water bowl…I know, I know…we chose to have a dog…and I love her very much…blah blah blah…

And yet another generous couple asked us at just the right time if Finn was in need of any new equipment. Why yes, actually, he is. I received a phone call from OrthoCare last week telling us Finn’s RGO device was in.

Reciprocating Gait Orthosis (Help Finn Walk Thing)

Reciprocating Gait Orthosis (Help Finn Walk Thing)

Excuse me?! We didn’t actually order one; we just fitted him for one to try it out. Well, they ordered it anyway and now we have to pay for it. A $7,500 leg brace of sorts (our portion after insurance is smaller than this, however). The doctor assured me over the phone that if there’s one device that will help Finn learn to walk, it’s this one. I felt guilty denying our son an opportunity to progress, but I simply told her we couldn’t afford it and asked them to keep it on hold for a year until we had the funds. Joey and I talked it over at home and decided to have faith that if it’s something Finn really needs, God will provide the money. He always has; and I believe He always will. Enter…insanely kind family friends: “Our offer still stands: if Finn needs anything, we’re writing the check.”

Well, okay, God. We receive the gift(s). Thank you.

It’s hard for me to receive sometimes. I like to earn things and being the giver feels more natural to me. This is because I’m prideful. But I’m learning to receive with grace and humility and allow the Lord to love us through his people in this way. We are compelled by their kindness to be obedient and give what we can (and sometimes even what we can’t) with open fists and pure motives.

2 Corinthians 8:7

But just as you excel in everything-in faith, in speech, in knowledge, in complete earnestness and in love-see that you also excel in this grace of giving.

One thought on “Receiving

  1. Ash, I LOVE this. I see a direct correlation between you being blessed and how your sweet family has been so faithful to love and serve others. YOU are the blessing my dear, this is just merely the Lord using others to respond to that.

Leave a Reply

