Laughing in Bed

My mom really loves my dad.

I know this because when it was dad’s turn to make the bed in the morning, he would awkwardly place the pillows–like one on top of the headboard and one upside down, etc. Mom didn’t care. I got my love for the outdoors from him. He collects pieces of driftwood that look like animals, fills his pockets with quartz rocks and took us arrowhead hunting when we were kids. My mom would let him display these treasures all over the house. She loves him.

Pastor Craig Groeschel’s message this morning was the last of his Love Song series. Joey and I listened attentively, holding hands. His sermons are all pretty fantastic, but one profound thought stuck out to me this morning. He said something like this:

We will value things we don’t naturally value because we value the person who values them.

My mom fishes rocks out of her washing machine because she loves my dad. My dad hangs up his collared shirts because he loves my mom.

Marriage requires that we give. And give again. And give when the other person isn’t giving.

One of my favorite childhood memories is listening to my parents laugh in bed before I fell asleep. Belly laugh. This happened just about every night. I’m not sure there’s anything that could have made me feel more secure than knowing my parents loved each other. What’s more; they liked each other.

I hope Finn and Paisley grow up with the same assurance that their parents honor and love each other deeply. And I pray the last thing they hear before they drift off to sleep is their daddy laughing at their mommy. Because I’m pretty hilarious. 😉

Date weekend a year ago. Sigh.

Date weekend a year ago. Sigh.

You’re my hero, J.

One thought on “Laughing in Bed

Leave a Reply

