Cilantro

I stood in front of the sink and huffed, rinsing cilantro. I hate how the green leaves stick to my fingers. It’s a mess to chop, much less sprinkle into a soup or fresh guacamole. Plucking the tiny leaves off the stem one by one is the definition of tedium. I have better things to do with my time. 😉

FullSizeRender 5

While chopping cilantro for my brothy chicken tortilla soup, I realized something:

Cilantro will never change.

If I want to continue cooking with it–and I do; I love cilantro–then I’ll have to de-stem it, rinse it, peel it from my fingers and chop it. For the rest of my life.

IMG_0403

Nothing will ever change about cilantro. I either have to give it up, or get over it. This simple truth applies to so many of life’s frustrations, tediums and obstacles.

Brothy Chicken Tortilla Soup

(This is a light, healthy and restaurant-quality soup recipe from my girl, Laura. One of our favs!)

Ingredients: 1 T olive oil, 1 c. chopped onions, 2 tsp chopped garlic, 1 poblano pepper, seeded and chopped OR 1 green bell pepper, chopped plus 1 jalapeno, chopped, 1 1/2 tsp salt, 1 1/2 tsp cumin, 1/2 tsp coriander, 1 T. tomato paste, 6 c. chicken stock, 1 lb. chicken breast, juice of 1-2 limes, 1 avocado, 1/4 c. chopped cilantro

Directions: Heat oil in large stock pot and add onions, garlic, peppers and seasonings. Cook until onions are clear. Then add tomato paste and cook for another minute. Add chicken stock and bring to a boil. Add chicken breast(s) until fully cooked. Remove chicken breast(s) and shred. Return shredded chicken to pot. Simmer 20 minutes. Add lime juice and cilantro, stir. Serve with tortilla chips and avocado. Optional: sour cream and cheese.

IMG_0404 2

3 thoughts on “Cilantro

  1. I cooked with it this week…I thought the very same thing…I used it as my active form of meditation that day…or else I was going to scream.

  2. I love that you love that soup. I don’t know if you remember, but I made it for you guys and the Sanders the very first time we had you both over for dinner on my birthday. The start of a beautiful friendship! 🙂

Leave a Reply

