Wearing Capes

Joey and I escaped yesterday to the Warren Theater. Vehicle: minivan. We braved torrential rain showers and the guilt parents often feel when leaving their children with a babysitter. We emptied our pockets for a medium popcorn and soft pretzel, and sat hand-in-hand for 2.5 hours…childless.

IMG_0672

The Incredible Pais

We don’t get to the theater very often, but when we do, it’s typically action, sci-fi or suspense. This time we saw The Avengers Age of Ultron and I loved every minute of it. I’ve blogged about superhero movies before; apparently I’m inspired by monsters teaming up to save the world from other monsters. (See posts: Superheroes and Child of Steel)

At one particularly action-packed moment in the film, I imagined it was Joey and I fighting the world back to back instead of Scarlett Johansson and Jeremy Renner.

I’ll change her diaper if you make his lunch. You capture Paisley, and I’ll throw Finn’s wheelchair in the trunk. I’ll pick him up from school while you feed her dinner. Throw me her paci! Toss me his shoe! Boom! Pow! Bang! 

Super Finn's first track practice...he's competing in a track and field event in June!

Super Finn’s first track practice…he’s competing in a track and field event in June!

This is such a fun life. Sure, at times we lose focus of our mission. It’s exhausting, absolutely. Sometimes I feel wounded and want to hang up my cape for good. But what kind of superhero would I be if I refused to fight? Cowered from my foes? As a believer, I’m reminded of the reality of our battle:

Do not be overcome with evil, but overcome evil with good. (Romans 12:21)

IMG_0888

3 thoughts on “Wearing Capes

Leave a Reply

