Men

I know the story reads differently for many other women, but the men in my world are real-life heroes. Princes on steeds. They are strong, kind and brave. This is because they love Jesus.

Gramps

I’ll never forget a time I was struggling in college. I confessed to him my issues at their Arizona home one lonely Spring Break. He told me it was no big deal. We all mess up. Gotta move on, for Cripe’s sake. I am so hard on myself–a recovering perfectionist. His grace washed over me like healing balm.

IMG_0485

He taught me how to organize a garage, play Cribbage and count cards. He loves old western movies and he’ll rob a bank for a back rub.

Bopp

No one loves his wife’s cooking more than my dad’s dad. He is gentle and loves each of his many grandchildren the same. His eyes fill with tears when he talks about his family. Years of hard work on the farm make him appreciate the little things in life, and there’s no place he’d rather be than fishing with one of his grandkids.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Dad

This man loves God and has a reverence for His creation like no one I’ve ever known.

IMG_0601

He taught me how to spot a deer in the field, listen for loons on the lake and bait a hook. He is kind and sincere in the purest way. If you’re lucky, you’ll catch him when he’s goofy. He is immune to the demands of American materialism. He’s not above it or below it, he’s just outside of it. And he listens more than he talks–I want to be like that. He tells me he loves me in the sweetest, sappiest ways.

IMG_0962

At the end of every run, he points his finger to the sky and thanks God for the gift of breath and movement. One-of-a-kind.

Chad

This kid (okay, he’s 28) is chalk-full of integrity. It’s in his bones. He is not satisfied with mediocre living or shallow relationships. He calls family meetings at holidays to ask how he can pray for us. And then he actually prays for us.

Teaching the Word at the Sea of Galilee!

Teaching the Word at the Sea of Galilee!

Silly and loud, he could never sit still as a child. He’d stand in front of the TV or circle the dinner table until we all went insane. He’s intentionally busy but learning how to rest. All will be right with the world when we find him a woman. A really really special woman.

IMG_5575

Joey

He is home for me. In his arms I feel safe to be myself. He’s seen me at my worst and held my hand anyway; he’s seen me at my best and is publicly proud of me.

IMG_0974

He cares deeply about the marginalized, the lesser ones. Annoyingly good at everything he does and devilishly good looking, I’m still so in love. He makes me laugh every single day and there’s no one else I’d rather share the ups and downs of life with.

IMG_1129

Finn and Paisley won the jackpot with Joey as their dad.

Terry

He’s my father-in-law, but I feel like he’s just my dad. He has big ideas, reads big books and has an even bigger heart. Lumber beware: he will craft you into something beautiful. I’m forever grateful for the dad he was (is) to Joey. I believe kind, empowering, godly dads are what’s missing from our society. Thanks for being one of them.

IMG_9600

Finn

When I was pregnant with my little boy, I felt like God had forgotten him; made him incomplete somehow. I was so wrong. God spent so much extra time creating Finn. He has more personality and spunk than most adults. He speaks better than most adults too.

IMG_8752

His perspective on life will be so fantastically different than mine. I believe (and pray) he will know Jesus in a more intimate way than I ever will. The confidence he has to wheel straight through a crowd of staring people–with a smile on his face–is a gift from above. I am so blessed to have a front-row seat for his little, important life.

Father God

He pursues me with relentless love. Prone to wander, Lord I feel it. He knows my name and cups my face in His hands, calling me Daughter. He disciplines me and makes me terribly uncomfortable when I need it. My Redeemer and Provider. I crave time alone with Him, especially in the mountains. Sometimes He’s silent, but if I’m quiet and humble, I can hear His voice. Despite my circumstances, He is good.

Happy Father’s Day! You are so important, Dads. Keep leading us with courage and love.

3 thoughts on “Men

  1. They are very fortunate to have you in their lives too. I love reading your heartfelt thoughts. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

