Getting Away

When life is hard, I go somewhere else in my mind–some fantastic place I’ve been before. This is the magic of vacation: the carefree memories last beyond the holiday. They get us through the arduous days and nights that follow.

I think about Colorado: Cascade Falls north of Durango and waking up in our tent beside Lime Creek.

IMG_5250 IMG_5386

I go poolside in Mexico with my hottie husband doing a crossword puzzle at my left. I am climbing a rock face in Slovenia, slurping linguine in Florence, exploring ancient cathedrals in Rome. I’m bike riding up to a castle in Salzburg, on the dock with my family at the lake, canoeing in the Boundary Waters or whale watching in Alaska.

Getting away forces me to rest, breathe a little deeper and separate myself from the people and things that produce the most stress. But it also helps me appreciate those very things. With some distance between us, I am grateful for a home to clean, children to feed with butts to wipe, and a job with oftentimes too many clients to manage.

Most recently, we spent 4th of July weekend at my parents’ home in Bella Vista, AR.

IMG_1269

These two are something else!

IMG_1306

We watched fireworks over the dam, water skied, swam off the boat, and played games when the kids went to bed.

IMG_1251 IMG_1284  IMG_1292 IMG_1297 IMG_1243 IMG_1260

Chad surprised us and drove up from Dallas to join the fun!

IMG_1301 IMG_1271

This is going to be one of my new favorite traditions.

Last week, Joey and I left Tulsa on the earliest flight in the history of aviation, met our Norman friends in the Dallas airport (and two more met us in Mexico!) and continued on to Cancun.

IMG_1315 IMG_1314

We were celebrating Dustin’s 40th birthday and our 9th anniversary.

IMG_1309

We stayed at Secrets Playa Mujeres.

FullSizeRender 20

It was a new, all-inclusive resort with beautiful buildings/decor and really yummy food. I felt like Lady Edith, dressing up each evening, choosing anything I wanted off the menu and letting someone else do the dishes.

IMG_1312 IMG_1338 IMG_1350

We spent a couple blissful days at the spa.

IMG_1342 IMG_1328

Anytime I get a massage, I pray…just so grateful for a moment to be pampered; a complete luxury. The masseuse would think I was a weirdo if she heard my inner monologue: “Oh, thank you Jesus. You are just so good. Always good…” 🙂

IMG_1321

LOVED this book! Thanks, Leah!

We had never traveled with friends before, and to be honest, I was a little nervous I wouldn’t get enough time with Joey, but it was perfect. We loved sharing meals with our friends each evening, laughing over the mariachi band’s lilting vibrato and tasting each others’ gourmet dishes. I miss the everyday-ness of our friendship with them. They are good people. Life-long friends.

IMG_1344

After day 4, we were missing our kids like crazy and ready to get home to our food, our workouts, our bed. We came home with a new appreciation for the regularity of our little life; ready to tackle parenthood head on.

Thank you, Mom, Dad and Chad for taking such fantastic care of our babies while we were gone. We can only travel like this because of your sacrifice.

Tuesday, Finn was diagnosed with an ear infection and sent home from school, then Paisley spiked a fever too. Yesterday, after hours of simultaneous crying and whining from my little loves, I took myself back to the relaxation room in Mexico. White robe. Cucumber slices on my eyes and eucalyptus in my nostrils. Breathe deeply. It’s going to be okay and it can always be worse. Dear friends are struggling with much worse diagnoses these days.

I’m grateful for the opportunity to get away but even more grateful for the opportunity to come home.

2 thoughts on “Getting Away

  1. Well, first of all, I DIE with Pai Pai’s nose scrunch smile. I love me a nose scrunch smile.
    SECOND of all! Best time ever. My most favorite vacation. Loved to get to make memories with you two.

  2. It looks like you had a great vacation, good for you. It does make you appreciate your blessings when you’re away from home! We just got back from Taos and the beautiful, cool weather, nice people, and great food was wonderful but there truly is no place like home.

Leave a Reply

