Salty

I purchased more salt today. Coarse Kosher salt is my favorite for cooking. I can always tell when Joey has used it because it’s strewn all over the countertop. He likes to sprinkle it high above his plate because it makes him feel chef-y. Gramma Mary taught me to use celery salt for boiled eggs. I had two of them for lunch. I’ve had chili salt on my rim in Mexico. And the Diefenderfers (friends from college who own Cuppies and Joe in OKC) use Pink Himalayan salt on their smashed fingerling potatoes. They eat the coolest food on the planet, so of course I purchased some PH salt. It sits in my cabinet, pretty and pink, but full to the brim. Not sure what to do with it.

FullSizeRender 21

Salt accentuates natural flavor. It can take a dish from alright to life-changing. It’s the little black dress that plays up your best parts.

Jesus tells us to be salty in the Sermon on the Mount, Matthew 5.

“You are the salt of the earth. But if the salt loses its saltiness, how can it be made salty again? It is no longer good for anything, except to be thrown out and trampled underfoot.

His followers should bring out the best flavors in people, and if they don’t, they’re “good for nothing.” I should make you better; empower you to be the best version of yourself. My character and personality should bring out the best of yours. I’ve had friends before who did the opposite. I didn’t like who I was around them. My ego was tripped; my selfishness and quick temper tested. It’s like their sin invited my sin to play. I’m certain I’ve unfortunately done the same for others.

IMG_1187

Joey brings out the best in our kids!

I think some people feel this way about Christians in general. They are negative–always against something instead of for something. If we’re not careful we can bring out the worst in our co-workers, kids, spouses, employees, and neighbors. Jesus wants us to add depth of flavor and deliciousness to his people, inviting the world to His table to taste and eat of His goodness, grace, patience, kindness, acceptance and love. Yummy things.

A pinch of salt can completely change a dish. A believer of Christ has this power to change a community.

4 thoughts on “Salty

Leave a Reply

