Spilled Milk

The idea of gratitude has literally changed my life. I think it may be the single-most important attitude of a believer. In being grateful we assume our rightful posture of child receiving undeservedly from Father, Provider.

IMG_1820

I distinctly remember one holiday break home from college. I was dejected from a recent break up, sleep-deprived, fighting a sinus infection, and grumpy. I went for a long run in my parents’ neighborhood surrounded by the rugged beauty of the Texas hill country. I heard this idea once that when you’re sad, you should start saying aloud the things you’re thankful for. I voiced those things as I ran…and I just couldn’t stop. My two mile run turned into four and I returned home to our cul-de-sac physically tired but spiritually awake. I was overflowing with gratitude.

I’ve been grumpy for the past two weeks. Ask Joey. Finances. Friends. Loneliness. Family. Work. Finn. Sleep. Marriage. Dust. Spilled milk. Jersey. The broken headlight on our van. If you’re looking for something to complain about, you’ll find it. And I have.

Great Grandma Mary reading to my kids.

Great Grandma Mary reading to my kids.

Pastor Craig’s sermons are simple but powerful. Practical but prayerfully prepared. Full of wisdom. Tonight I heard his word from the Lord about gratitude. Tears filled my eyes and I felt like a little girl sitting in time out. I was humbled because I’ve been disobedient. I’ve been discontent despite the richness of blessings in my life. And it’s been everyone else’s fault but my own.

“Gratitude turns whatever we have into enough.” -Pastor Craig Groeschel

Jesus, forgive me for pouting and missing opportunities to praise you. Thank you for all the good things in my life. I acknowledge they’ve come from above. And thank you also for the difficult things. Perhaps it’s a matter of perspective anyway.

Rock Town OKC with Joey one lovely Friday in September.

Rock Town OKC with Joey one lovely Friday in September.

“He fills my life with good things; my youth is renewed like the eagle’s.” Psalm 103:5 AMEN.

I choose gratitude.

One thought on “Spilled Milk

Leave a Reply

