In the Palm of His Hand

We celebrated Joey’s grandma’s 93 years of life today at her funeral.

13346879_10153760427212648_4852587094474634460_n

My father-in-law, Terry, led the service. He has this unique gift of performing both weddings and funerals with warmth and ease. He honors the moment, the people and the Lord in joy and in sadness. He makes us laugh and cry at once. It’s a craft.

Joey and his cousin, Blake, played the guitar and the mandolin skillfully, singing three songs to celebrate Grandma Davis.

FullSizeRender 39

The lyrics of one folksy hymn got to me:

And He will raise you up on eagles’ wings,
bear you on the breath of dawn,
make you to shine like the sun,
and hold you in the palm of His hand.

(On Eagle's Wings)

I envisioned myself sitting, cross-legged, safe in the palm of His hand, like a ladybug trusting the Gardener. My mountains are but speed bumps. My lofty goals, little. My self-importance seems silly. Perspective. Funerals offer perspective.

And somehow, despite my smallness, I matter to God. 1 Peter 5:7 says, “Cast your anxiety on Him, for He cares for you.” He cares about my pocket-sized life and I think He can even make it big. I can be influential and impact not only my community, but the entire world because of Him.

It’s like Antman. (I know this seems off-topic, but we watched it last week and it’s fresh in my mind.) The Marvel superhero can diminish to the size of an ant, access keyholes and pass through microfibers, etc., all for the sake of his mission.

Ant-Man-4

He’s microscopic, but powerful when he wears his Antman suit. Maybe he’s powerful in the same way Scripture says “faith as small as a mustard seed” is powerful. Even in minuscule doses, faith infiltrates our lives, sneaking into our thoughts, flavoring our words and enriching our relationships.

Grandma Davis’s life was ordinary, small in the grand scheme of things, but today I was reminded that little lives can have a big impact in the palm of His hand.

 

3 thoughts on “In the Palm of His Hand

  1. Beautiful, as always, Ashley. And as I told you at the service today, you and your words are huge, and are a witness to many, especially me.

  2. Hi Ashley,
    I have just returned home from my Grandmother’s funeral in Michigan on what would have been her 106th birthday. It was a beautiful service with a comforting and powerful message of faith too. Funerals do put things in perspective, you’re right! To see how many people had gathered from around the country to celebrate my Grandmother’s life, how many lives she had touched, to hear so many words of sincere affection for her; well it was very special to me. I couldn’t help but be filled with gratitude for having had 61 years with her. Some people can go their whole lives without knowing their grandparents. I was blessed to have known mine. Sounds like you were too.

    I am trusting her into God’s care now and know I will see her again one day.;

    Miss you,
    Gwenn

  3. Sweet Ashley. Thank you for honoring my mom as you share your reflections of the day! The day was a day of honoring God and my mom. Love you

Leave a Reply

